Thank you for proving Princeton Mom wrong!

Thank you for proving Princeton Mom wrong!

I read excerpts of the Princeton Mom book “Marry Smart: Advice for Finding The One” a couple of months ago, and I must say, I was pissed. In this book she advises women to get plastic surgery in high school, find a husband before graduating college, and not spend too much time focusing on their careers… ::Deep Breaths:: I know, I know, “to each their own” and we all have different aspirations in life. But seriously, I remember when Nicki Minaj did the Roman Holiday Performance at the 2012 Grammys, and one of my friends tweeted something about Nicki’s performance setting us back in time and  eliminating all the progress we had achieved in society when truthfully, I thought it was quite harmless as opposed to what Princeton Mom did with her book.

This is why I absolutely LOVED this open letter. I couldn’t care less about Clooney and his relationships, but I did enjoy reading about Amal and her impressive life/work resume (see how her mom is an accomplished professional as well? what a concept. She had time to interview Bill Clinton AND raise a kick-ass family? Pfffttttt blasphemy). To me it’s not a choice of successful career vs. family life. I think both are attainable through balance and in due time.

So back to the link I’m sharing – this piece, written by a wife no less (seeing married women calling BS on Princeton Mom is PRICELESS) is perfection. Being a working woman doesn’t mean you can’t end up with the man of your dreams. Are we clear Princeton Mom?

Leave a Reply

